Clanbrooke Racing Garners Award

Dec 01, 2015

Members of the Thoroughbred Club of Australia, an association of owners throughout Australia, came together recently to celebrate the end of the 2014-15 racing season and to announce the winner of the 'Thoroughbred Club of Australia Owner of the Year Award'. That honour went to syndicator Clanbrooke Racing, headed by Dean Humphries, who will be presented with his award at a Caulfield Cup Day luncheon on-course. The award is based on each member nominating a stable of four of their horses with points accrued based on results throughout the year. Notwithstanding the achievements of their four nominated horses, statistics reveal that Clanbrooke's winning strike rate, from their entire stable, was better than every trainer in Victoria, bar one – Ciaron Maher (19.76%). During the past racing season, Clanbrooke Racing achieved an amazing strike rate with 18.7% winners and 39.6% placegetters from a total of 139 runners. Clanbrooke Racing, whose yearling purchase prices average around $30,000, rose to national prominence with $22,500 yearling buy Arapaho Miss. The daughter of Danehill Dancer won the Gr1 VRC Oaks, earning her syndicate over $710,000 in prizemoney before being sold for $600,000 as a broodmare. (courtesy Breeding&Racing Friday, 28th August 2015)